Advocacy Day at Florida Capitol

January 23, 2020
8:30 AM - 3:00 PM
 Add to Calendar

Florida Capitol
400 S Monroe St.
Tallahassee , FL 32301
Venue website

The Risk Management and Patient Safety Advocacy Day will be held January 23, 2020 from 8:30 AM to 3 PM at the Florida Capitol.  The goal of our Advocacy Day is to provide our members with an opportunity to "advocate" for public policy that benefits patients through a safe, trusted and accessible healthcare system.  The day will begin with a morning briefing on issues currently being debated by the Florida Legislature as well as a presentation on key bills that are being tracked by our Advocacy Committee and background on specific members of the legislature who have an impact on the bills we are tracking.  FSHRMPS members will be provided with a list and a schedule of meetings with specific legislative leaders and staff to visit during the day and our society will have a special exhibit in the Capitol Rotunda highlighting our efforts to provide leadership for a safe and trusted healthcare system. 

We have secured a special discounted room block ($194 Per Night - Including Breakfast) at the Hilton Garden Inn for January 22, 2020.

Please contact the hotel by phone at 850.385.3553 x.0 and use the Group Code: FSHRMP or click here to make your reservation online.


Tentative Agenda

Wendesday January 22, 2020

3:00 - 5 PM           Advocacy Committeee Meeting

5:30 - 6:30 PM     Reception Hosted by Adovacy Committee and FSHRMPS Advocacy Committee & Business Partners

                             Location: Hilton Garden Inn - 3333 Thomasville Road, Tallahassee, Florida, 32308


Thursday, January 23, 2020

8:30 AM        Legislative Briefing: Strategos Group - 200 West College Avenue, Tallahassee, FL 32301

9:00 AM         Depart / Walk to Capitol Bldg.: 400 S. Monroe St, Tallahassee, FL 32301 

9:10 AM         Meeting with Representative Cary Pigman – Chair, Health Market Reform Committee (214 House Office Building)         

9:10 AM          Office Visits:

                       Senator Janet Cruz (218 Senate Building) 

                       Senator David Simmons (404 Senate Building) 

                       Senator Linda Stewart (205 Senate Building) 

                       Senator Darryl Ervin Rouson (212 Senate Building)

                       Senator Audrey Gibson (200 Senate Building)

                       Senator Bill Montford (410 Senate Building) 

                       Senator Aaron Bean (405 Senate Building)                         

10:00 AM       Meeting with Representative Nicholas Duran - Health Market Reform Committee Member (406 House Office Building)                           

10:45 AM      Meeting with Senator Lori Berman – Vice Chair, Health Policy Committee (311 Senate Office Building) 

11:20 AM      Meeting with Representative Shervin Jones- Health and Human Services Committee Member (319 Capitol) 

11:30 AM      Meeting with Senator Gayle Harrell – Chair, Health Policy Committee (310 Senate Office Building)

11:30 AM     Meeting with Representative Renee Plasencia- Vice Chair, Health Quality Committee (317 House Office Building) 

12:00 PM      Lunch at Strategos Group Office: 200 West College Avenue, Tallahassee, FL 32301

1:00 PM        Meeting with Representative Jackie Toldeo- Health Market Reform Committee Member (209 House Office Building) 

1:30 PM        Meeting with Representative Anna Maria Rodriguez – Health Quality Committee Member (214 House Office Building)  

2:00 PM        Meeting with Representative Ralph Massullo (208 House Office Building)  

2:00 PM        Office Visits:

                      Representative Coleen Burton – Chair, Health Quality Committee (214 House Office Building

                      Representative Amber Mariano, Health Quality Committee Member (309 House Office Building) 

                      Representative Joy Goff-Marcil (1302 The Capitol) 

                      Representative Tracie Davis (200 House Office Building)

                      Representative Anna V. Eskamani (1102 The Capitol)

                      Representative Grant (417 House Office Building) 

                     Representative Daniel Perez (1101 The Capitol) 

                     Representative Loranne Ausley (101 The Capitol) 

                     Representative Cyndi Stevenson (209 House Office Building) 

                     Representative Emily Slosberg (400 House Office Building) 

3:00 PM    Group Photo (Second Floor - Capitol Rotunda)

                  Depart Capitol


$0.00 Member Registration

$25.00 Non Member Registration