The Florida Society for Healthcare Risk Management & Patient Safety is considered the leading voice in Florida on issues related to risk management and patient safety across the continuum of care. Our Society is pleased to announce our 2020 Award Recipients:

2020 Emerging Leader Award - Kimberly Williams, RN, BSN

Kimberly Williams, AdventHealth Loss Control Manager, has been a Registered Nurse for the past 25 years and a Risk Manager for the last 14 years.  I have my Bachelor of Science Degree in Nursing and currently preparing to take the CPHRM exam.   She became a Licensed Risk Manager in 2005 and have been a Risk Manager at various facilities for AdventHealth. Three years ago, she had the opportunity to join the Clinical Risk Management team at AdventHealth as a Loss Control Manager.  She has served on the educational committee over the last 3 years and was privileged to be the Co-Chair of the Convention Planning Committee. 

2020 Patient Safety Collaboration Award - HCA West Division

HCA West Florida is part of HCA Healthcare, an industry leader in clinical excellence and innovation. To produce exceptional patient outcomes, we rely on a powerful combination of skilled physicians, state-of-the-art equipment, highly trained nurses and clinical support.

2019-20 Patient Safety Achievements:

  • Eight West Florida Division hospitals earned the Leapfrog Patient Safety Grade ‘A’ for Spring 2019.
  • 100% of our hospital Quality Leaders are certified, demonstrating their expertise in leading performance improvement.
  • 100% of our hospitals have Chief Medical Officers who work with physicians to improve patient outcomes.
  • 100% of our hospitals are designated Stroke Centers and three are Comprehensive Stroke Centers.
  • Our rigid focus on Sepsis through the development of a real time Artificial Intelligence tool, the Sepsis Predication and Optimization Therapy (SPOT), has saved an estimated 8,000 lives in the past five years through the quick identification of patients with sepsis combined with evidence-based clinical interventions. Additionally, most of our hospitals have earned Joint Commission Sepsis Certification.
  • Our best practices in blood management have greatly reduced the units of blood transfused in our hospitals.
  • Expeditious surgery through the Geriatric Fracture Initiative is reducing complications, decreasing long-term mortality and shortening hospital stays in this vulnerable population.
  • Tele-neurology is providing our ER physicians with instant consults for Stroke Patients allowing for the immediate use of clot-busting drugs when appropriate to reverse the effects of strokes.
  • We are expanding telemedicine in the ER with Tele-psychiatry to ensure patents receive needed behavioral health assessments.
  • Our Antibiotic Stewardship program is stopping the overuse of antibiotics by getting the right drug to the right patient at the right time.


2020 Professional Recognition Award JUAN D. REYES , LHCRM, ARM, MBA/HA , CHSP

Juan D. Reyes, ARM, LHCRM, CHSP, BIE, MBA/HA has been affiliated with the Health Care and Insurance Industries in a variety of positions in Risk Management, Health Care Administration and Insurance for over 20 years.  He received his Bachelor’s Degree in Industrial Engineering (BIE) from the Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech); he has an MBA with a Concentration in Health Care Administration (MBA/HA)  from the University of Miami.  He began his Risk Management career as a Safety/Loss Control Engineer.  Mr. Reyes was the Director of the Joint Risk Management Program for Jackson Health System and The University of Miami School of Medicine and its Chief Compliance Officer for over 10 years. In past positions he has been a Hospital Chief Operating Officer (COO), overseeing all support and ancillary operations.  He has extensive experience in environmental and patient safety, managed care, accreditation, healthcare regulations, contract management, healthcare operations, Claims/Litigation Management, Health Care Compliance, healthcare operations, Human Resources Management and enterprise risk management.  He has worked in the not for profit, profit and public health care sectors, as well as serving as consultant for a variety healthcare organization, including physician practices. Mr. Reyes taught at Florida International University in its Certification Program for Health Care Risk management and in a variety of educational institutions in the areas of healthcare administration and insurance.   In his past positions, Mr. Reyes has developed and instituted programs in the areas of clinical risk prevention, working collaboratively with clinical performance improvement and quality teams in patient safety initiatives. He is currently the Assistant Vice President Risk Management and Compliance /HIPAA Privacy Officer for Community Health of South Florida, Inc. (CHI), a multi-site South Florida based Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), non-for-profit organization. He is the organization’s Patient Safety Officer. Mr. Reyes is a Certified Examiner for the State of Florida Governor Sterling Award, which promotes excellence in business.

The goal of our awards program is to recognize leadership, collaboration, and innovation at both the organizational and individual levels. We are asking members of our profession to help celebrate the work we do in providing a safe and trusted healthcare system by nominating one of your colleagues and/or your organization for the following awards:

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes newer members who have already made significant contributions to the Society and/or to the profession and have demonstrated the potential for leadership and continuing service.

A Nominee for the Emerging Leader Award Must:

  • Be a FSHRMPS member in good standing;
  • Not have previously received an Emerging Leader Award;
  • Have made a significant contribution to the Society through service on one or more committees;
  • Have shown outstanding promise for continuing service and leadership. Specific examples of his/her continuing activities must be provided.


Click here to complete the online nominations form.

The Professional Recognition Award is awarded to a FSHRMPS member who has made significant contributions to our Society and/or the profession of healthcare risk management and patient safety.

A Nominee for the Professional Recognition Award Must:

  • Be a FSHRMPS member for at least five years. Current FSHRMPS board members and officers are ineligible; however, committee and task force chairpersons who are not board members may be nominated;
  • Have demonstrated support and contributions to FSHRMPS and its member;
  • Have participated in FSHRMPS committees and/or made presentations during educational meetings or activities;
  • Have demonstrated resourcefulness and innovation in the field of risk management and patient safety;
  • Have been responsible for major contributions to the advancement of the profession of risk management through authorship, teaching, research in risk management, etc.


Click here to complete the online nominations form.

The Patient Safety Collaboration Award is conferred on an organization (or facility) which has demonstrated excellence in promoting collaboration between departments to improve quality and reduce risk at the enterprise level.

A Nominee for the Patient Safety Collaboration Award Must:

  • Align risk management and patient safety strategies with the Society’s organizational mission, vision, values, and goals;
  • Create opportunities for interdisciplinary collaboration to promote effective patient safety outcomes;
  • Advocate for the inclusion of the principles of proactive risk mitigation within patient safety and quality improvement initiatives;
  • Promote the application of high reliability principles at all levels of the organization.


Click here to complete the online nominations form.